Out of the gate

by Jon Bridges / 19 March, 2011
A shaggy dog story.

The Ministry of Education's clearly stated intention of bringing more New Zealand literature to the high school syllabus has resulted in a series of reading guides designed to give students insight garnered from the latest academic criticism. Here is an excerpt from the first of those guides:

Introduction

When Hairy Maclary from Donaldson's Dairy, by a little-known author from Rotorua, was published in 1983, readers were quick to perceive it as a carefully constructed allegory describing an ­Antipodean political, social and economic milieu, the downfall of which the author not only perfectly anticipated but, many critics say, actually caused. The same subversive semiosis informs and inhabits Lynley Dodd's whole oeuvre, especially the darkly sexual Hairy Maclary's Bone (1984), but nowhere are they are as raw and intense as in Donaldson's Dairy.

Plot Summary

Six dogs go for a walk and are scared back home by a cat.

Characters

Maclary is a taciturn New Zealand antihero in the tradition of Barry Crump's Good Keen Man and John Mulgan's Man Alone. What does Maclary say in the book? Nothing. What are his actions? Simply to walk and to walk back. He neither leads, nor asks to be followed.

Critical debate over which broad sections of New Zealand society the other dogs represent has resulted in consensus: Hercules is the overweight. Potts represents Dalmatians (and Eastern European immigrants in general), McLay is ­Lorraine Downes, Bitzer is the 1980s anorexia epidemic, and von Krumm represents Germans who smell of meat.

Themes

The central question of the work is "Why does Hairy go for a walk?" and the answer lies in what he leaves behind - Donaldson's Dairy. How many dairies, even in 1983 New Zealand, were still owned by someone called Donaldson? While the piquant irony of the name anchors the story in nostalgia, it also depicts Maclary's walk as a deconstructive process - bridging the gap between the two opposing forces of the story - the dying past and the nascent future.

1983 was a tipping point in New Zealand history. The country was poised between Muldoon and Lange; balanced between Think Big and Rogernomics; centred between the Springbok Tour of 1981 and the anti-nuclear policy and Waitangi Tribunal of 1985.

Dodd's "sniffing" and "snooping" Maclary senses that things have come to a head. What impulse sends him "out of the gate and off for a walk"? What impulse but that of a restless nation due for tumultuous change?

Dogs are loyal, but they will wander: Dodd harnesses this duality of dogness to perfectly encapsulate the Jungian New Zealand subconscious of the 1983 zeitgeist. The New Zealander was a loyal dog, but at the same time he, and increasingly she, was also "off for a walk". The Springbok tour of 1981 saw her off the leash for the first time and it is no accident that Dodd gave Hairy no South African friend - no "Koos Flippie Veldt with his snowy white pelt".

With what great angst contemporary feminist readers observed the book's only female character, Muffin, literally blindly (she's also the only character in the book with no visible eyes) following the canine patriarchy off on their walk? Like Lorraine Downes's victory in Miss Universe that year, hapless Muffin's hirsute march was, for Dodd, at once a step forward in national identity, and a bittersweet leap backwards for the early 80s' feminist cause.

When Scarface Claw utters the book's only line of dialogue - "EEEEEOWWWFFTZ!" - it is at once the unintelligible dying scream of Robert Muldoon, the self-confessed "toughest Tom in town" and the eloquent birthing screams of the new New Zealand.

The scream sends Maclary "back home to bed" but how has his character changed? Many readers have pointed out that the hump in the blanket of his bed is far too large to hide just Hairy himself. Exploring a lascivious subtext (as she did again in 1998's Slinky Malinki Catflaps) Dodd is surely suggesting Muffin has joined Maclary's basket. The cat's reactionary scream ironically drives them to the bed from whence their mongrel puppies of change will walk purposefully toward the millennium.

Questions

1. Discuss the Freudian implications of Bitzer Maloney's tail.

2. How many whiskers does Scarface Claw have? Can you count them?

MostReadArticlesCollectionWidget - Most Read - Used in articles
AdvertModule - Advert - M-Rec / Halfpage

Latest

Why it's time for a female Doctor Who
77083 2017-07-27 09:12:33Z Social issues

Why it's time for a female Doctor Who

by The Listener

Gender equality is lamentably slow-dawning in many endeavours, but TV and film help normalise desirable social trends. However it does cuts both ways.

Read more
Five great places in Auckland for gluten-free eats
77081 2017-07-27 09:09:05Z Auckland Eats

Five great places in Auckland for gluten-free eats…

by Paperboy

Auckland has a whole swag of places where you can eat well gluten-free - here are five of the best.

Read more
Te Papa’s tribute a real Dagg
71078 2017-07-27 00:00:00Z Profiles

Te Papa’s tribute a real Dagg

by Russell Baillie

The late John Clarke left some big boots to fill. Now you can go see them at Te Papa.

Read more
Manawatu Gorge: Simon Bridges hints at big bucks alternative
76903 2017-07-27 00:00:00Z Economy

Manawatu Gorge: Simon Bridges hints at big bucks a…

by Pattrick Smellie

Years of avoiding the question of an alternative road appear to be over.

Read more
How to overcome comfort eating
76877 2017-07-27 00:00:00Z Nutrition

How to overcome comfort eating

by Jennifer Bowden

Cutting back on chocolate and other indulgences calls for breaking a vicious cycle of comfort eating. Here’s how.

Read more
Baby Driver's Ansel Elgort on the making of this must-see film
77071 2017-07-26 17:42:03Z Movies

Baby Driver's Ansel Elgort on the making of this m…

by India Hendrikse

Actor Ansel Elgort talks to Paperboy about starring in the hit film Baby Driver, doing stunts, and his contribution to the incredible soundtrack.

Read more
How to stop wasting food: These Aucklanders show us how
77051 2017-07-26 16:04:01Z Social issues

How to stop wasting food: These Aucklanders show u…

by Leisha Jones

Meet some of the Auckland champs turning food destined for the bin into three-course dinners and inventive dishes.

Read more
Jesse Mulligan is giving Mike Hosking a run for his money
77043 2017-07-26 15:40:00Z Profiles

Jesse Mulligan is giving Mike Hosking a run for hi…

by Julie Hill

The Project host talks about government underfunding of DoC, being told to cheer up by Maggie Barry, and wanting to crush Hosking.

Read more