Trapped by Martin van Beynen review

by Jeffrey Paparoa Holman / 25 February, 2012
Trapped’s intimate revelations of Christchurch earthquake survivors grip the heart in a way the flood of visual images can’t.
Never a great believer in reviewers inserting their own lives into the work of another writer, I do feel a need to declare myself here. I live in Christchurch and experienced all the major earthquakes from September 2010 through to December 2011. I am hardly, therefore, an objective reader. Having lost a dear friend in the CTV building collapse of February 22, I feel deeply involved in this book’s subject: survival stories.

I had hardly got through the first paragraph of the opening account when there he was: Te Taki (Wally) Tairakena, one minute playing his guitar to a group of new international students, the next buried in the fallen building and dying there with them. I could only begin by reading Trapped slowly and in small doses, one story at a time, increasing my pace a little at the urging of the inevitable deadline. So let me drop all pretence of a cool literary assessment while trying to explain the effect of reading Martin van Beynen’s harrowing collection of near-death experiences.

By interviewing survivors from all the major sites where fatalities occurred, he assembles a kaleidoscopic view of what it was like in the central city when the earthquake struck at 12.51pm: the experiences of entrapment, escape, injury and recovery, recounted by a representative group of those who came through the terrors alive – although not all in one piece.

If you want to know what courage sounds like, then you will find that aplenty in these voices; this is not only a profoundly human document, but also an important written record amid a flood of visual images. Most of the books released in the wake of the February event have been glossy pictorials of wreckage and carnage; it might be easy to mistake them for the more permanent record and miss the humanity of these recorded witnesses, interleaved by the fluent prose of a professional journalist.

Van Beynen has an ability to frame people’s stories, opening up for us a window on the soul, a vision of what it was like to feel your life was at an end – and what really counted. These intimate revelations grip the heart in a way no picture can. A final confession: at the point of writing, I still have not made it to the very last page. It’s just too hard, really.

TRAPPED: REMARKABLE STORIES OF SURVIVAL FROM THE 2011 CANTERBURY EARTHQUAKE, by Martin van Beynen, foreword by Mayor Bob Parker (Penguin, $35).

Jeffrey Paparoa Holman is a poet and historian.
MostReadArticlesCollectionWidget - Most Read - Used in articles
AdvertModule - Advert - M-Rec / Halfpage

Latest

Junkyard dog: Transforming scrap metal into practical street art
70370 2017-04-25 00:00:00Z Life in NZ

Junkyard dog: Transforming scrap metal into practi…

by Stacey Anyan

Te Aroha scrap metal sculptor Adrian Worsley brings art to the street.

Read more
Crossword 1024 answers and explanations
The best signs from the Auckland March for Science
PM confirms 'Five Eyes' conference in Queenstown
71527 2017-04-24 09:58:30Z Politics

PM confirms 'Five Eyes' conference in Queenstown

by RNZ

Prime Minister Bill English has confirmed a meeting of the 'Five Eyes' intelligence group is being held in New Zealand this week.

Read more
Tight security amid Gallipoli terror warnings
71517 2017-04-24 06:57:26Z World

Tight security amid Gallipoli terror warnings

by Chris Bramwell

Kiwis attending Anzac commemorations at Gallipoli this year will face airport-level security restrictions after warnings of terror attacks.

Read more
How empathy can make the world a worse place
71431 2017-04-24 00:00:00Z Social issues

How empathy can make the world a worse place

by Catherine Woulfe

Many of us think that high empathy makes you a good person, but giving in to this “gut wrench” can make the world worse, says a Yale psychologist.

Read more
For the Fallen: Remembering those lost to war
71473 2017-04-24 00:00:00Z History

For the Fallen: Remembering those lost to war

by Fiona Terry

Every day before sundown, a Last Post ceremony is held at the National War Memorial in Wellington, to remember those lost in World War I.

Read more
Film review: Ghost in the Shell
71490 2017-04-24 00:00:00Z Movies

Film review: Ghost in the Shell

by Russell Baillie

Nothing dates faster than a past idea of the future.

Read more