Trapped by Martin van Beynen review

by Jeffrey Paparoa Holman / 25 February, 2012
Trapped’s intimate revelations of Christchurch earthquake survivors grip the heart in a way the flood of visual images can’t.
Never a great believer in reviewers inserting their own lives into the work of another writer, I do feel a need to declare myself here. I live in Christchurch and experienced all the major earthquakes from September 2010 through to December 2011. I am hardly, therefore, an objective reader. Having lost a dear friend in the CTV building collapse of February 22, I feel deeply involved in this book’s subject: survival stories.

I had hardly got through the first paragraph of the opening account when there he was: Te Taki (Wally) Tairakena, one minute playing his guitar to a group of new international students, the next buried in the fallen building and dying there with them. I could only begin by reading Trapped slowly and in small doses, one story at a time, increasing my pace a little at the urging of the inevitable deadline. So let me drop all pretence of a cool literary assessment while trying to explain the effect of reading Martin van Beynen’s harrowing collection of near-death experiences.

By interviewing survivors from all the major sites where fatalities occurred, he assembles a kaleidoscopic view of what it was like in the central city when the earthquake struck at 12.51pm: the experiences of entrapment, escape, injury and recovery, recounted by a representative group of those who came through the terrors alive – although not all in one piece.

If you want to know what courage sounds like, then you will find that aplenty in these voices; this is not only a profoundly human document, but also an important written record amid a flood of visual images. Most of the books released in the wake of the February event have been glossy pictorials of wreckage and carnage; it might be easy to mistake them for the more permanent record and miss the humanity of these recorded witnesses, interleaved by the fluent prose of a professional journalist.

Van Beynen has an ability to frame people’s stories, opening up for us a window on the soul, a vision of what it was like to feel your life was at an end – and what really counted. These intimate revelations grip the heart in a way no picture can. A final confession: at the point of writing, I still have not made it to the very last page. It’s just too hard, really.

TRAPPED: REMARKABLE STORIES OF SURVIVAL FROM THE 2011 CANTERBURY EARTHQUAKE, by Martin van Beynen, foreword by Mayor Bob Parker (Penguin, $35).

Jeffrey Paparoa Holman is a poet and historian.
MostReadArticlesCollectionWidget - Most Read - Used in articles
AdvertModule - Advert - M-Rec / Halfpage

Latest

David Tamihere case: Key witnesses' doubts about murder of Swedish tourists
76738 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z Crime

David Tamihere case: Key witnesses' doubts about m…

by Donna Chisholm

Nearly 30 years after young Swedish tourists Urban Hoglin and Heidi Paakkonen disappeared in the Coromandel key witnesses say the mystery haunts them.

Read more
Modern slavery and tourism: when holidays and human exploitation collide
76728 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z Social issues

Modern slavery and tourism: when holidays and huma…

by The Conversation

With the advent of orphanage tourism, travellers think they're doing good. But they can often just be lining the pockets of the orphanages' owners.

Read more
The Polish resistance fighter who volunteered for Auschwitz
76750 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z History

The Polish resistance fighter who volunteered for …

by Glyn Harper

A Polish soldier volunteered to be incarcerated at Auschwitz so he could report on the Nazis’ activities inside the death camp.

Read more
Filmmaker Gaylene Preston on stalking Helen Clark for a year
76591 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z Movies

Filmmaker Gaylene Preston on stalking Helen Clark …

by Russell Baillie

Gaylene Preston was taken by surprise when her famous subject decided to apply for another job in the middle of filming My Year with Helen.

Read more
Dunkirk – movie review
76769 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z Movies

Dunkirk – movie review

by James Robins

Dunkirk strikes home with minimal dialogue and maximum tension.

Read more
The sex robots are – ahem – coming
76736 2017-07-23 00:00:00Z Technology

The sex robots are – ahem – coming

by Peter Griffin

Sex dolls are becoming increasingly lifelike but human flesh still wins out.

Read more
Naomi Klein: The writer-activist leading the Trump resistance
76609 2017-07-22 00:00:00Z Profiles

Naomi Klein: The writer-activist leading the Trump…

by Diana Wichtel

Naomi Klein has been unpacking the neo-liberal bag of tricks on our behalf since 2000. Now she’s leading a call to resist US President Trump.

Read more
Meet the Kiwis with a passion for poultry behind documentary 'Pecking Order'
73407 2017-07-22 00:00:00Z Movies

Meet the Kiwis with a passion for poultry behind d…

by Beck Eleven

When Slavko Martinov pitched the idea for his documentary to the Film Commission, it came out as 'Best in Show' - with chickens.

Read more