• The Listener
  • North & South
  • Noted
  • RNZ
Dame Fiona Kidman. Photo/Robert Cross/Supplied

Dame Fiona Kidman wins Best Novel at the Ngaio Marsh Awards 2019

Dame Fiona Kidman has added to her haul of prizes for her work This Mortal Boy, winning the best novel prize at the 2019 Ngaio Marsh Awards, the annual prize for New Zealand crime-writing.

The book, based on the 1955 case of “jukebox killer” Paddy Black, the second-to-last person hanged for murder in this country, won her the top fiction prize at the Ockham Awards earlier this year.

Best first novel went to JP Pomare for Call Me Evie, his debut psychological thriller about a Melbourne teenager recovering from a trauma in a cabin in Maketu.

Journalist Kelly Dennett won the best non-fiction prize for her book about an unsolved case, The Short Life and Mysterious Death of Jane Furlong.

All three winners received a trophy, a special edition of a Dame Ngaio Marsh book, and a cash prize at the ceremony on the final night of WORD Christchurch’s 2019 programme.

Marsh herself missed out on a posthumous prize for her short-listed book Money in the Morgue, an unfinished Inspector Alleyn mystery set during World War II, which was completed by Stella Duffy.