• The Listener
  • North & South
  • Noted
  • RNZ

Dame Ngaio Marsh makes longlist of crime writing awards that bear her name

This year’s longlist for the Ngaio Marsh Award includes a name already engraved on the trophy.

Ngaio Marsh is up for a Ngaio Marsh Award. The crime writing dame, who died in 1982, features on the longlist announced today for the 2019 Ngaio Marsh Awards for best novel, the annual prize for New Zealand crime, mystery, and thriller writing.

Money in the Morgue, an uninfinished Inspector Alleyn mystery set during World War II, which was completed by Stella Duffy, is among the ten contenders on the list.

Marsh has competition from another dame — Fiona Kidman whose This Mortal Boy predictably makes the longlist after last month being awarded the top prize for fiction at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Also included is past winner Liam McIlvanney for The Quaker. The Glaswegian writer, who works as a lecturer at the University of Otago, last year won the McIlvaney Prize — a Scottish crime-writing award named after his novelist father William — for the book. In Britain, it’s also been shortlisted for the 2019 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. McIlvaney’s Where the Dead Men Go won the Ngaio Marsh award in 2014.

Previous finalists with books making the longlist again include Tina Shaw for her Young Adult story Make A Hard Fist and Ben Sanders for his New York detective title The Stakes.

Ngaio Marsh c1935. Photo/Henry Herbert Clifford/Supplied

The longlist:

No One Can Hear You by Nikki Crutchley (Oak House Press)

Cassie Clark: Outlaw by Brian Falkner (Onetree House)

This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman (Penguin)

Money In The Morgue by Ngaio Marsh & Stella Duffy (Harpercollins)

The Quaker by Liam Mcilvanney (Harpercollins)

Call Me Evie by JP Pomare (Hachette)

The Stakes by Ben Sanders (Allen & Unwin)

Make A Hard Fist by Tina Shaw (Onetree House)

The Vanishing Act by Jen Shieff (Mary Egan Publishing)

Rain Fall by Ella West (Allen & Unwin)

The finalists will be announced on August 2, along with the finalists for Best First Novel and Best Non-Fiction. The winners will be announced at a WORD Christchurch event on September 14.